top of page
Search
Writer's pictureWEngineer

Bio Bosses Bossin' Around

During this session of WEngineer, we challenged our students to build a prosthetic of their own. After learning about the different types and models of prosthetics they had a chance to put their knowledge and creativity to the test! We received many great submissions, so check them out below:


This student demonstrated the early stages of the design process by creating a blueprint for their design complete with detailed descriptions and add-ons!


This student opted to model a prosthetic hand, and used paper, string, and straws to depict the joints in a hand.


And finally, OUR WINNER!! Their design went above and beyond, read what they had to say down below!


“I first had an idea of having poles with springs attached to the end of that. I wanted the springs so they could take in a lot of the load. But the problem was, I didn’t have any springs. So, I took the springs that hold the toilet paper rolls and stuff them with foam (to keep it stuck) at the end. But I still had the problem of attaching it on to my leg. So, I found a knee brace to keep it on my leg. But when I tried walking on it all the pressure went into my leg and it hurt, a lot. So, I scratched out that idea of two supports but still wanted the spring. So, I went with a peg leg Pete design. I found a Styrofoam bowl with a whole in the bottom. So, I stuck one of the poles through, and attached the knee brace from the bottom of the bowl to my leg. And that was my design for a leg amputated slightly after the knee.”




64 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page